Custom Search 1

Court rules against President Trump’s travel ban

BLOCKED: President Trump

PRESIDENT DONALD Trump’s travel ban that prevented those from seven predominately Muslim countries from entering the United States will remain blocked; a three-judge federal appeals panel announced Thursday evening (Feb 9).

According to CNN citizens of Iraq, Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen will continue to travel to the States by previous standards.

The judges who issued the unanimous ruling included Judge Michelle T. Friedland, appointed by President Barack Obama; Judge William C. Canby Jr., (President Jimmy Carter); and Judge Richard R. Clifton, (President George W. Bush.) Judge James L. Robart blocked previous sections of Trump’s order after attorney generals from Washington and Massachusetts accused the order of religious discrimination.

Trump announced the ruling, known off hand as a “Muslim Ban” on Jan 27, creating a domino effect of stranded travelers. Under Trump’s ruling, citizens were barred from entering the U.S. for 90 days, while all refugees from Syria were blocked indefinitely.

Since the announcement that Trump's travel ban has been rejected by the federal panel, he has shared his reaction on Twitter:

Annual subscription for The Voice newspaper print edition.

Read more stories like this in our weekly printed newspaper. To purchase an annual subscription, complete the form below and enter the code 'ONLINE2017.

* indicates required
() - (###) ###-####
Facebook Comments